Celebrities for the Day

Faith-Based NonProfits
Executive Directors

Honorees James A. Christoferson of Arise 2 Read, Sabrina Blue of Helping Hands of Tennessee, Harold D. Nance of Jonah Affordable Housing Org.,Lisa Tillman of Regional Inter-Faith Association and Gail Gustafson of The Dream Center of Jackson


Emergency Management Personnel

First Responders
Honorees Dr. Allyson Anyanwu of West Tennessee Healthcare, Captain Wemond Graham of the Jackson Madison County Fire Department, Jason Moore of the Emergency Management Office, Officer Joseph Mitchell of the City of Jackson Police Department and Sgt. Alfonso Newbern of the Madison County Sheriff's Department.

Five Finance Experts
Honorees Ray L. Dunn Jr. of Northwestern Mutual, Sherita Graham of BancorpSouth, Monte Jones of Commercial Bank and Trust,  Chad Wilson of Foundation Bank, and Bill White of First Tennessee will be honored with the JMCAACC Community Service Award on Sept. 12th.

Five Plant Managers
Honorees Ricardo Anawate, Shawn Daly, Andre Gist,

Mike Pace and Swee Har Wilcox were presented

with the JMCAACC Corporate Citizen Award.


Twelve Outstanding Women in Business

Honorees are Jeannie D. Bond, Pamela Bowers,

Angela Calhoun, Lynne Henning, Lynn B. Henning, Clara Hewitt, Beth James, Alissa Nance, Lisa Piercey, Mandy White, Swee Har Wilcox, and Mechele Williams.


Congratulations! Coach Damon Fuller and the Southside High School Hawks basketball team, State Champions and College Presidents: Dr. Samuel Oliver of Union University,  Dr Logan Hampton of Lane, Dr. Thomas Rakes of University of Tennessee at Martin, and Dr. Niles Reddick of the University of Memphis Lambuth Campus.


Healthcare ProfessionaLS


(Click here to view profiles)




State Rep. Johnny Shaw

State Rep. G.A. Hardaway

Shelby County Commissioner Sidney Chism

Hardeman County Mayor Willie Spencer

Former WHBQ Weatherman Leon Griffin



9th Follow Me Celebrity Golf Classic -- September 2019

Emergency Management rock stars were hailed as Celebrities for the Day at the 2018 FMCGC!

Congratulations to 2019 Our Honorees

The 2019 Follow Me Celebrity Golf Classic featured a total of 21 teams.  Held Tuesday, September 10, at the City of Jackson's Bent Tree Golf Course,the tournament included celebrity teams featuring Ed "Too Tall" Jones and Jerry Reese. Autographed footballs will be offered in both a silent auction and live auction. Special thanks goes to Eplus TV6's Steve Bowers who served as emcee for both opening and closing programs. (See photos below.)

Co-chaired this year by Ted Austin of Jackson Energy Authority and Dr. Dexter Davis of the University of Tennessee at Martin, the Golf Committee recognized as "Celebrities for the Day" five faith-based nonprofits were chosen:  We have five honorees (see photos below) who make a difference day in and day out in the community.

We sincerely congratulate all winners and thank our event sponsors!.  Many thanks to these fine sponsors: Jackson Energy Authority, Team 4 Success, Mayor Scott Conger and the City of Jackson, UT Martin, Lane College, PRA Group/Portfolio Recovery Associates, Travel By Jim, and BancorpSouth along with media friends and partners 96KIX, WBBJ-TVWOJG-FM, CrimeSEEN Examiner News, and Jammin' Jackson 97.7,

The tournament raises funds for the chamber's  Follow Me Into BusinessĀ® youth development program which runs throughout the year and offers a summer jobs training program during June and July. 

Applause to senior Maya Bridgeman who earned a $500 scholars from  LyondellBasell for her winning essay on the importance of small businesses in a community.

Kudos to the Golf Committee members for planning an outstanding day of fun -- Ted and Dexter along with Corine Turner, Ida Burton, Clarence Boone, Bobby Morgan, Jim Donnell, Mary Cunningham, Harold Nance, Don McCorry and Florence Howard.  Special thanks to our event sponsors, media partners as well as Coach Derrick Burroughs, Derrick Britt, and Mr. Ed "Too Tall Jones.

Join us for the 10th Follow Me Celebrity Golf Classic on Tuesday, September 15, 2020!